Thing 10 Future trends again

In 2020, I hope we will all have access to smaller, less expensive computers.  (remember those giant, room sized computers?) More online resources  (won’t everything be online?) and we will have to figure out how to pay for them!  Having more may bring down the price through competition but that model where a library can only lend an e-book 26 times might kill us…

Opportunities to take better advantage of:  I’m really getting after my students to use the public library as a supplement to our collection.  Our databases give them the world on a daily basis but some don’t appreciate that.  Not sure what we’ll have to give up – (maybe paper)everything just seems to keep getting added on to what we do and what we offer.   I’m not much of a futurist.  I’m still slogging through the present!  There’s so much of it, too!

About mvsmls

I'm a Jr/Sr High librarian. I've been on the job for a really long time (15 years in elementary schools and some 10 extremely part-time years concurrently in public libraries) but I'm always interested in new learning opportunities. That makes my job more fun!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment